I HIGHLY advise against what you are doing. It's always safer, albeit, more of a pain to reinstall all your applications. The only thing that is safe to copy back over would be your data(music, documents, pictures). I guarantee you will run into issues down the line and will probably end up uninstalling and reinstalling the applications anyways.