im pretty sure that it does it once in a while.it does it for me.i think its just verifying if your still the same person or something
Make sure you have verified your email address. Do this by right clicking on the steam icon ( bottom left ) ,settings and on the " account " tab.
Is this restricting you from gaming in any way?