tf2 trading system

Status
Not open for further replies.
Does not look official at all, if you click registration the billycock is badly photoshopped onto the sign.
 
Also if this is not legit and made by valve then trading this way could be bad, meaning you may get the stuff deleted.
 
As someone said on the fpsbanana link, they might be banking on the fact that people tend to use one password for everything.

I'm not doing it. I'll wait and see what Valve comes out with for trading.
 
Ok, what it is is like a networking page where users make requests for a trade and search other people's, you don't actually trade anything, it is just a way of finding the trade you want, so when the trading system comes out, you can contact the person via steam and organize a trade.

It works, doing what I have just said, and at no point do you need to put your credentials at risk, other than if you use the same password for everything.
 
  1. The domain is not registered to Valve, it's registered through an anonymous registering company
  2. The site is badly made
  3. They rip off a bunch of Valve graphics to try to look legit

Looks like a phishing site to me, they're hoping you use the same passwords for either email or your steam, as they can get your steam account through either avenue.

Even if you don't use the same pass for everything, there are plenty of people that do, so spreading this site puts them at risk.

c40747-14.jpg
 
  1. The domain is not registered to Valve, it's registered through an anonymous registering company
  2. The site is badly made
  3. They rip off a bunch of Valve graphics to try to look legit

Looks like a phishing site to me, they're hoping you use the same passwords for either email or your steam, as they can get your steam account through either avenue.

Even if you don't use the same pass for everything, there are plenty of people that do, so spreading this site puts them at risk.

c40747-14.jpg

+1 | This.
 
this turns out to be quite a nice little public service to the community, letting you find people to trade with once trading comes out.
 
I wouldn't trust it, their name server is from Russia (ns.majordomo.ru) and their whois info is protected while teamfortress.com's (Value owned) whois info is viewable and hosts their own name server (NS1.VALVESOFTWARE.COM).
 
Do you guys not understand? This is a great website which allows us to trade our hats easily! We don't need to argue about the reliability, because I am telling you it works - you can see people's inventories. It is not meant to be an official site, it is a community thing. So please, enough with this phishing witch hunt, and register.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top